Welcome!
Saltcellar Folk Club, Totterdown, Bristol
First Saturday of Every Month, 7.30pm
Welcome!

The Saltcellar Folk Club is based in Totterdown, Bristol, BS4 2AX. UK.

Please note:
This website will close at the end of October 2018
The November 2018 meeting is on the second Saturday in the month (not first!)

Saltcellar Folk music evenings usually take place at 7.30pm on the first Saturday of each month in the basement (or salt cellar) of Totterdown Baptist Church on Wells Road, Bristol, BS4 2AX. All are welcome to come along. Admission is usually £5 on the door, but just £3 for floorsingers.  Singarounds are just £1 entry.

The club invites good quality folk and acoustic acts from Bristol and the surrounding counties, as well as national and international acts, to headline each month. In addition, each evening includes local floor singers and musicians.  Floor acts should make themselves known on arrival and sign the list to have the opportunity to perform in front of our friendly audience. On busy nights, it may be necessary to give priority to those who sign up first.

LAST TWO SHOWS in 2018

  • 10 Nov Cohen Braithwaite-Kilcoyne - Award winning young singer who also plays melodeon and anglo concertina. www.cohenbk.com
  • 1 Dec Six-Five-Specials - Skiffle is back! A four piece band including Saltcellar regulars Pete and Alan. www.facebook.com/The-Six-Five-Specials

The show on 1st December 2018 will be the final of 2018 and for the foreseeable future.
The closure of the Saltcellar Folk Club is owing to a lack of volunteers. No further shows are planned for 2019 or beyond.


Contact details:

These contact details are not valid after December 2018. Up until that date please
E-mail Stella for further information.
Visit our Facebook pagefor photos and updates.

We are taking no further bookings, but floor performers are welcome as usual at any of our final three shows in 2018.


About the Venue

The Saltcellar is in the basement of Totterdown Baptist Church, which has legendary acoustics.  The entrance is on Cemetery Road, off Wells Road and access is down a flight of stairs. We have a coffee bar selling hot drinks and homemade cakes.  The venue does not have a licence to sell alcohol, but you are welcome to bring your own drinks.  Bottle openers and glasses are provided.  Local shops nearby sell a range of wine, beer, cider and other beverages.




Previous Saltcellar Guests:

  • 6 Jan Open Stage
  • 3 Feb Steve Turner - Folk singer who accompanies himself on English concertina, cittern, mandolin and banjo. www.steve-turner.co.uk
  • 3 Mar Brian Peters - Compelling singer, squeezebox player and guitarist with traditional songs, ballads and tunes. www.brian-peters.co.uk  Cancelled due to extreme weather conditions in the interests of public safety!
  • 7 Apr Jimmy Aldridge and Sid Goldsmith - Highly acclaimed young duo. “One of the top must-see acts at the moment”. www.jimmyandsidduo.com
  • 5 May Jez Lowe - A welcome return of the popular singer/songwriter. An evening of humour, anecdotes and insights.. www.jezlowe.com
  • 2 Jun Iron and Oak - Americana/Folk. Sarana and Heather from the USA plus Saltcellar regular James Slater. www.reverbnation.com/ironoak
  • 7 Jul Open Stage
  • 1 Sep Mile Roses - Contemporary British Folk music with a nod to Nashville. Original songs and close harmonies. www.themileroses.weebly.com
  • 6 Oct Flossie Malavialle - French born singer with eclectic repertoire, and humorous Franglaise banter! www.flossiemalavialle.co.uk



Ange Hardy - www.angehardy.com   Alan Kirkpatrick & John Shaw - www.alankirkpatrickjohnshawfolk.co.uk Appalachia - www.appalachiamusic.co.uk/ Askew Sisters  www.askewsisters.co.uk  Barron Brady - www.barronbrady.com Brian Peters - www.brian-peters.co.uk Chameleon - Facebook Page Corncrow - http://www.myspace.com/corncrow Dan McKinnon - www.danmckinnon.ca  Dana & Susan Robinsonwww.robinsongs.com Dark Island - darkislandmusic.co.uk  Dave Griffiths (Jimbo & Griff) - www.mandolinexpress.co.uk/ David Cheffings - Dursley Acoustic Music Night Ewan McLennan  www.ewanmclennan.co.uk Freshly Ground www.Freshly_Ground.html Georgia Lewis and Friends - www.Georgialewis.co.uk Graham & Sandy Ball Issy & David Emeney - http://www.issyemeney.co.uk Pete Stearn and Will Southcote Jan Vaisey & Ian Harvey - YouTube Clip & Facebook pages (Jan and Ian) Jeff & Elaine Gillett www.youtube.com/user/JandEGillett Jim Causley - www.jimcausley.co.uk  Jim Reynolds (Jimbo & Griff) - jimreynoldsmusic.co.uk Jim Tigwell - www.guitartuitionbristol.org/ John Blake - YouTube Clip Johnny Coppin -  www.johnnycoppin.co.uk Karen Tweed -  www.karentweed.com Kate Lissauer - www.katelissauer.com/ Keith Judson - www.keithjudson.co.uk/  Laurie & Karen Burn - www.laurieguitars.co.uk  Lazibyrd - lazibyrd.bandcamp.com/  Jez Lowe - www.jezlowe.com Mike Scott - www.mikedanverscott.co.uk/  Mike Silver  www.mikesilver.co.uk Mischief Afoot - www.mischiefafoot.co.uk Ninebarrow  www.ninebarrow.co.uk Pauline Sellars & Stuart Pitt - Facebook pages Pauline & Stuart  Pete Coe - www.backshift.demon.co.uk Pete Kiddle - petekiddle.com Reg Meuross -  www.regmeuross.com/ Sara Grey - www.saragrey.netSarah Jones - www.sarahjones.org.uk/ Sarah McQuaid -  www.sarahmcquaid.com Si Barron - barronbrady.com/bb/biog.html Simon Boulter Sisters H (Hilary Pavey & Helen Bonner) http://hilarypavey.co.uk/sisters-h/ Steve Turner - www.steve-turner.co.uk Sue Franklin & Tim Brine - YouTube Clip  The Raven (Caz Forbes & Ste Moncrieff) - www.forbesmoncrieff.co.uk The Yirdbards - www.yirdbards.com Thornbridge Triosee YouTube clips One & Two

Floor Performers at the Saltcellar have included:

Bard of Windmill Hill -
www.windmillhillbard.co.uk Douglas Hamilton - douglashamilton.bandcamp.com Ed Hanfrey - www.reverbnation.com/edhanfrey James Slater - Facebook page Jess Vincent - www.jessvincentmusic.co.uk/ Jinski - www.jinski.com Pete Stearn Ray Croll - www.raycroll.co.uk  Robin Tulloch - Facebook pageSaskia Griffiths-Moore - www.saskiagm.com Simon Boulter Talis Kimberley - www.talis.net/ The Coarse Envelope - www.thecoarseenvelope.com/ Tony Coll - Facebook page
...and quite a few of the performers who have been guest acts are regular floor singers and musicians

Other Local Folk and Acoustic Music Links

Johnny Coppin BBC local radio folk and acoustic music programme
Saturday at 5.30pm on Radio Gloucestershire and via "listen again" on the web: (
www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p001d7z8)
Bristol (Centre): Nova Scotia Folk Club Every Monday night, the Nova Scotia Inn, Cumberland Basin, Bristol BS1 6XL (
www.theacousticroom.co.uk/)
Bristol (North): Downend Folk Club Aims to bring high-quality live folk, roots and acoustic music to the Downend area. (
www.downendfolkclub.co.uk/)
Bristol (North): Dragon Folk Club Meets for a singers night every Friday at The Bridge Inn, Shortwood, Bristol. BS16 9NG (
http://dragonfolkclub.blogspot.co.uk/)
Bristol (North): Folk Around Fishponds 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month at the Cross Hands, 1 Staple Hill, Fishponds, Bristol. BS16 5AA (
www.faf.moonfruit.co.uk/)
Bath: Bath Acoustic Music Club First Wednesday of each month, St James Wine Vaults, St James Sq., BA1 2TW (
www.bathacoustic.co.uk/)
Gloucestershire: Dursley Acoustic Music Nights Third Sunday of each month, 13, Five Acres, Dursley, GL11 4JP (
www.dursleyamn.org.uk)
Gloucestershire: Forest Folk Club, Forest of Dean First & third Sunday of each month, The Miners Arms Whitecroft, Lydney, Glos. GL15 4PE (
www.forestfolkclub.com)
North Somerset: Nailsea Folk Club Second Tuesday of Each Month, singers/musicians night, Grove Sports Centre. Also Concert Nights (Tithe Barn or Ring o’ Bells). (
www.nailseafolkclub.co.uk)
South Wales: Newport Folk Club Every Thursday, Newport Fugitives Athletic Club, High Cross Road, Rogerstone, NP10 9AD (
www.newportfolkclub.co.uk)
Wiltshire: Devizes Folk Club Every Monday, Lamb Inn, 20 St John's St, Devizes, Wilts SN10 1BT (
www.devizesfolkclub.co.uk)
Songs From The Caravan Site with songs collected from different areas of Britain, with many local performers (
www.songsfromthecaravan.org)
Folk Clubs in the Mid West of England (& South East Wales) From Mr Red, compiler of folk venue lists for the counties around Gloucestershire (
http://mister.red)

 



About the club history
The Saltcellar Folk Club was started in 2011 by Laurie & Karen Burn, along with a committee of local people. After Easter 2017, Laurie & Karen moved to Somerset, so the club committee, comprising Stella & Terry Tratt, Shivaun & Kevin, Gill Brice and Trevor Carter have continued to run the thriving club, with different people compering each month.Special thanks is owed to Ann and Eddie who not only supported the club and coffee bar but have also personally sponsored this website.


 



Saltcellar Folk Club, Basement of Totterdown Baptist Church, Wells Road, BRISTOL, BS4 2AX